Is it Legal to Grow Marijuana in Arizona?
It’s now legal for any adult to purchase and consume cannabis in Arizona, but can you grow your own marijuana? When you consider that one gram of retail cannabis costs $8 on the low end and up to $300 on the high end, it’s easy to see why a lot of people are looking to cut out the middleman and grow their own supply. If you find yourself daydreaming about your own grow tent, there’s some good news.
Can You Grow Marijuana in Arizona?
Since the passage of the Smart and Safe Act (Proposition 207), it is now legal for any adult in Arizona to grow their own cannabis at home. There are a few restrictions, though:
You can legally grow a maximum of six plants per individual or 12 plants per household (if multiple adults live in the same house).
Home cultivation must occur in an enclosed, secure environment that is inaccessible to children.
All cultivation must be hidden from public view.
Failure to meet any of the above requirements can constitute illegal cultivation, a class 5 felony (if you’re growing 2 pounds or less). A first offense can carry up to 2 years in prison and a minimum fine of $1,000.
Note also that it’s still illegal to sell any marijuana that you cultivate for personal use. You can transfer up to one ounce of cannabis to another adult as long as it’s not in exchange for compensation, but selling less than 2 pounds of cannabis without a license is a class 4 felony that can carry up to 1.5 years in jail.
Special Growing Privileges for Arizona Medical Marijuana Patients
If you have a valid Arizona medical marijuana card and you live more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the law permits you to grow up to 12 medical cannabis plants for personal use. In order to take advantage of this privilege, though, you must meet both criteria. The privilege applies to both medical marijuana patients and their authorized caretakers.
If you have a qualifying condition like seizures, chronic pain, cancer, or PTSD, you can obtain a medical marijuana card through the Arizona Department of Health Services. First, though, you have to obtain a written certification from a state-licensed physician. Green Leaf can help you to get your Arizona medical marijuana card quickly and easily if you qualify.
In addition to enjoying higher cultivation limits (in some cases), patients also have access to other perks like lower-cost cannabis, higher possession limits (up to 2.5 ounces), and more robust product selections.
Other Things to Know About Growing Marijuana Plants in the State of Arizona
If you want to grow cannabis in AZ for recreational or medicinal use, there are a few other things you’ll need to know before you get started:
You must be at least 21 years old or have a valid medical marijuana card. Possession of cannabis by anyone under 21 is a civil penalty for a first offense, a petty offense for a second offense, and a class 1 misdemeanor for a third offense.
All seeds must be purchased or acquired in Arizona. Transporting cannabis across state lines constitutes a federal drug trafficking offense.
All pruned, removed, and unused cannabis plant material should be discarded responsibly via composting, incineration, or rendering unusable and unrecognizable (such as by grinding down and mixing with other solid and liquid waste). Never dispose of cannabis plants in such a way that they can be taken by someone else and consumed.
The basics of the law are simple. As long as you’re of legal age and reside in Arizona, you can grow your own marijuana for personal use. You just need to follow a few basic guidelines to ensure that you don’t run into trouble.